Gellan gum, a food additive discovered in the 1970s, is now available. It was originally used to replace gelatin and agar-agar. Today, it is found in many processed foods including jams and meats, and fortified plant milk. It is possible to wonder if it has any health benefits or is safe.
This article will examine gellan gum and determine if it is good or bad. Marshmallow containing gellan gum Pin it!
What is gellan gum?
Gellan gum is a food ingredient that is used to bind, stabilize or texturize processed foods. It is similar to other gelling agents such as guar gum and carrageenan.
It can grow naturally on water lilies, but it can also be artificially made by fermenting sugar with a particular strain of bacteria.
Because it is very effective in small quantities and doesn’t react to heat, it’s a popular substitute for other gelling agents.
Gellan gum can also be used as a plant-based substitute for gelatin. This is made from animal skin, cartilage or bone.
How is gellan gum used?
Gellan gum can be used in many ways.
It is a gelling agent that gives desserts a creamy texture, gives baked goods fillings a jelly-like consistency, and decreases the chance of certain delicacies, such as creme-brulee and flaming sorbet, will melt when heated.
Fortified juices and plant milks often contain gellan gum to stabilize additional nutrients such as calcium. They are mixed in the beverage, not left at the bottom.
The additive can also be used in medical and pharmaceutical applications such as tissue regeneration, allergy relief, and dental care. It can also be used to repair bone and teeth.
Foods containing gellan gum
Gellan gum can be found in many foods, including ( 6Trusted Source).
- Beverages: Fortified Plant-Based Milks and Juices, Chocolate Milk, and Some Alcoholic Drinks
- Confectioneries: candy and marshmallows. Also, chewing gum, baking fillings, and other confectionery items.
- Dairy: cream, yogurt, fermented milk, cream, and processed cheese.
- Fruit and Vegetable Products: jams, jelly, fruit purees, and marmalades.
- Packaged food: Breakfast cereals, along with some noodles, potato Gnocchi, bread, rolls, and gluten-free/low-protein pastas
- Spreads and sauces: dressings, ketchup, mustards, gravies, and custards for salads and sandwiches
Other food: soups, broths, and condiments.
Gellan gum is a popular gellan gum vegan packaged food because it’s a plant-based alternative to gelatin.
It will be listed on food labels under the names E418 or gellan gum. You can also buy it separately under brands like Gelrite and Kelcogel
The potential benefits of gellan gum
Gellan gum may have health benefits but there is not much evidence to support these claims.
Gellan gum is one example. It can be used to relieve constipation and help foods move easily through your stomach.
These studies are, however, very limited and out of date. These mixed results indicate that digestive benefits could vary from person to person.
Additionally, some gums have been shown to help with weight loss, hunger control, and lower blood sugar levels. Some people believe gellan gum can also provide these benefits.
However, few studies have specifically examined gellan gum’s attributes, and the ones that have failed to report significant effects are not among them.
Gellan gum side effects/ Gellan gum saftey
Gellan gum is generally considered safe. One animal study found that high levels of gellan gum can cause abnormalities in the gut lining. However, other studies have not shown any harmful effects.
In a three-week study, participants consumed close to 30 percent more gellan gum per day than is normal in a regular diet, without any adverse effects.
You may want to limit your intake of this product as it can slow down digestion.
Gellan gum can be found in many processed foods as an ingredient. It may be effective in preventing constipation for some people. However, science has not yet proven that it is beneficial. It is generally considered safe. It’s not likely to cause any problems because it is usually used in small quantities.